Cinderella and the “Barn Cat”

 

p10008401   Hello, my name is Cinderella.  This is my home.  I am a Persian and queen of all I survey.  My people who live here  recognize how absolutely adorable I am, so they regularly hug and cuddle me, and I allow them to do so only because, although I would never admit it to them, it feels wonderful!  

You know, you always hear complaints about how hard it is to find good “help” these days, but I have to say the people attending me are very acceptable at seeing to my needs.  They fill my food and water bowls and clean my, ahum, “personal hygiene container” regularly, without too much grumbling.  So, over all, I feel my life is very compatible with the cultured lady I consider myself …  except for one thing.

 p100083411   Him. 

His name is Flash (a name that I sincerely hope portends his tenure as a member of our household, as in “a flash in the pan” … brief!), and my people allow him to live here too, although I have no idea why.  The dog, Mr. Bibble (a shitz shu who has some roughneck tendencies of his own, by the way, but that story will have to wait for another day), told me confidentially that he suspects that Flash may even be on shaky ground here, because of his wild, uncontrolled behavior.  That doesn’t surprise me in the least.  Truthfully, I have no idea why they would have brought such a rowdy, barn cat into our lovely home in the first place.  Yes, that’s what I said, I’m quite sure he is just a common barn cat, because of how he behaves, I don’t care if they do say he’s a Persian, like me.  Surely, no true Persian would run madly about the house all the time, acting in a very “street brawler” manner, as he frequently does.  Why,  just look at us.  Anyone with even a modicum of intelligence should be able to tell that I am a much more sophisticated feline than that, that cat.

 p1000818    I like to spend my days reclining in a lady-like way in soft, cozy spots.  Under a living room chair is one of my favorite spots, but I also enjoy lying on the seats of the dining room chairs.  It’s usually nice and dark in there and because I’m on a chair pushed under the table, it makes me hard to find.  I especially like that because sometimes a lady just needs her alone time.

 On the other hand, “BC” (barn cat), as I think of him, is always “looking for some action”  in the common vernacular … some mischief to get into, something, or someone to chase or wrestle with, or something to jump off of, sit on top of, or jump over! 

p10008391   Here, he gives the deceptive appearance that he is resting, but you’ll notice that he’s really looking into the darkened dining room, hoping to catch me unawares and get me to wrestle with him or chase him.  I won’t say I have never engaged in these activities, but it has only been the times when I was bored and needed a little entertainment, or a little exercise to keep my elegant self in shape!  And, I’ve certainly never enjoyed it!

p10008561   Although, I do have to admit that while Nana was visiting and she dangled a bright green ribbon between us, I just couldn’t resist playing with it for a while, even though it meant I had to share it with him.

p10008601   It must have just been by chance that he gave me the first turn at playing with the ribbon, because I’m absolutely sure he’s never heard the term “ladie’s first”!

p10008521   Then, when he took his turn, after I had fanned it delicately a few times, he roughly batted it as if he were a boxer!  I really didn’t want to seem interested, but it was hard not to watch.  He really is quite quick and coordinated! 

But, just because I was willing to play that time, I don’t want him to think I enjoy fraternizing with him. 

So, when I move about the house, I usually do it very covertly in order to avoid him.

p1000835   Here I am under my favorite living room chair.  But, I’ve decided I need a little change, so I’m going to sneak into the dining room to a nice dark spot on a chair in there.

p10008441   But, I need to move, in turn, quickly …

  p100082611  … and stealthily so that he doesn’t see me. 

p10008461   I’ve just stopped here by these boots to rest a minute and then I’ll make my final sprint to my favorite dining room chair.

p10008471    Oh, no!  He’s seen me! 

 p10008311     I’ll have to give him my “I won’t put up with your rough play” look! 

Unfortunately, he has distracted me, so that I don’t see someone else approaching who has decided she wants to play with me.

p10008742   Hmmm.  I am really quite fond of this little person as she is one of the best at tummy rubs, but a little of this game she sometimes likes to play with me can go a long way.  Right now, a little “rough housing” with Flash isn’t looking so bad after all!

9 Responses to Cinderella and the “Barn Cat”

  1. Hilary says:

    Gorgeous little felines, Sandra and cute commentary. That’s one tolerant kitty to allow your sweetie to carry it around like that.

  2. Sandra says:

    Hilary — They really are adorable. And, I had been told that Flash didn’t really like to be held, but I spent some time getting to know him, and he actually was a very cuddly kitty!

    And,I was very surprised that Cinderella would allow Mimi to “put her to bed” in the doll bed. But I think you can tell from the picture, she was on the look-out for an escape at the first opportunity! 🙂

  3. Beth says:

    Oh, what a cute post! It sounds like they both have interesting personalities. You may have heard this quote that I heard today: “Dogs have owners. Cats have staff.” Love it!

  4. Oh Sandra, this post had me laughing. I love the personalities of your cats. It’s just like having kids! And the final picture of her in the basket is priceless 🙂 Thanks for sharing and for starting out my day with a good chuckle.

  5. Sandra says:

    Beth — I love that saying! Thanks for sharing it.

    btw, no matter what Cinderella thinks, once I made friends with Flash, he was really a very cuddly kitty too. Not at all like a barn cat! 🙂

    Lynn — I’m so glad you enjoyed this! They are actually our daughter’s cats, so I am their “nana” I guess too, just like our grandkids! 🙂

  6. I love that last pic best; the cat’s face says it all! They’re all very beautiful 🙂

  7. Sandra says:

    HPKT — It was fun to try to write a story that would give me a way to use the adorable pix I took of the kittens. 🙂

  8. noactive says:

    Cinderella and the "Barn Cat" .Thanks for nice post.I added to my twitter.

  9. Sandra says:

    noactive — I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

