A Rainy Day Makes You Appreciate When The Sun Shines!

 

You know how you will have a spell of rainy, gloomy weather, and then one morning you will get up, the sun is shining brightly and your heart just sings because of the contrast?

Well, that’s me this morning.

I have had serious computer problems (that have kept me from writing on my blog, among other things) for about three days and I was so frustrated last evening that I told Hubby, I didn’t think I was going to be able to sleep because I was so overwhelmed with what seemed like everything going wrong with the computer.  I was especially bummed that it was the weekend and I was sure I couldn’t get any help with a fix until at least Monday morning.  Definitely an emotional “rain cloud” over my head.

But, then I remembered that my nail tech had given me the card of an IT guy who does her computer maintenance, and she really liked him.  So, I thought, “What the heck.  I’ll call him, and see if I can make an appointment for him to come over first thing tomorrow morning. That will give me a little peace that the stupid computer will at least be fixed sometime in the near future.”

I called “Ron” and introduced myself and tried not to sound too pathetic when I told him all the problems I was encountering, and asked if he could possibly come over tomorrow and fix it.  He said, yes, but if I wanted him to, he could come over right then! … at 7:30 p.m. on a Sunday evening!  (Maybe I sounded a little more pathetic than I thought.) Hooray!  I loved him before I even saw him!

He was here from 8 to 11 p.m. working on getting rid of the viruses and Trojan that I had somehow allowed into my computer.  And then he came back at 8 a.m. this morning and spent another hour finishing up.  If he had happened to look back as he walked to his car, he might have seen me doing my “happy dance”!  Relief is an understatement.

My computer is all defragged (do they still use that term?) … anyway, it’s all clean and germ-free.  And I am one “happy camper”.

My computer had a couple “rainy days” but now my computer “sun” is shining … and the contrast is wonderful.

May your Monday be as happy as mine is starting out!

7 Responses to A Rainy Day Makes You Appreciate When The Sun Shines!

  1. Linda says:

    We missed you! Don’t lose Ron’s card!

  2. Sandra says:

    Linda — Believe me, that number is going to be written several places so that I’m sure I’ll always be able to find it!

    Looking forward to hearing about your trip, tomorrow! 🙂

  3. Ron says:

    Let’s keep the fingers crossed that all the Gremlins have gone bye bye.

  4. Hilary says:

    And he even reads your blog! It’s amazing how dependent we become on this communication device, isn’t it? I would sound more than pathetic, and I do when my connection is down or my computer acts up. It’s our bridge to friends who live in this space.. friends we miss when they’re gone even for a bit. Welcome back.

  5. Sandra says:

    Hilary — It is a wonderful link to a whole new set of friends, isn’t it? It has enriched my life enormously, by allowing me to become friends with wonderful people like you! 🙂

  6. Beth says:

    That is great! I am going to reinstall Windows on mine tomorrow because I’ve been having big issues. I’ve spent way too many hours trying to figure it out and I’m too cheap to pay someone else 🙂 so I figure I might as well start with a “clean slate” (well, as “clean” as Vista can be–aaargh!) and reinstall a bunch of software.

    FUN. 😀

    I’m so glad yours is working again!!

  7. Sandra says:

    Beth — Good luck! Mine still isn’t totally clean, so I wonder if I’m not going to have to start over again too. I hate to think about doing that. 😦

Leave a Reply

