Who Are YOU Praying for Today?

 

I didn’t get to do a Sunday post because we were out of town, but when I read our daughter’s post today, asking who we are each praying for, it touched me.

So, in this Lenten season, I thought I would post on that theme too.

I believe with all my heart and soul in the power of prayer.  I believe that God hears every one of our sincere prayers and answers every one of them, even if we can’t see the “how’s and why’s”, sometimes for many, many years.

Linda and Doug once attended church with a wonderful elderly, God-fearing man.  A man who daily lived his faith for all to see.

Then, he became ill and a shut-in, no longer able to attend church, having to spend almost all of his time in bed. 

Do you know how that man spent his final years as a shut-in? 

He kept the church directory nearby, containing pictures of all the families in his church.  And every day, he would pray for one specific family in the church, I believe, completing the whole directory at least once before his death.

What a wonderful gift he was giving!  Not only to each of those families as he prayed for them, but also through the witness he demonstrated to all those who heard what he was doing!  Peope like me.  I never met him, but I’ll never forget him, because of this story I heard about him.

I also have heard about a woman who keeps her Christmas cards.  And during the next year, she will take one of the cards, re-read it, pray for the sender, and then write them a little newsy note, and tell them that she has prayed for them that day.

In these hard economic times, gift-giving has had to be scaled back by almost everyone.  But, when you pray for someone it is a gift that is truly priceless!

I have prayed, before I publish this, for the readers of this post.  It may be one of the most important things I do today.

May you have a happy, blessed Monday!

4 Responses to Who Are YOU Praying for Today?

  1. Hilary says:

    Sandra, you’re one of the kindest, sweetest ladies out here, and your sentiment is very much appreciated. Hugs to you, dear friend. 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    Hilary — Thank you so much, dear friend. You are such a gift of encouragement to me. 🙂

  3. Amy O says:

    You and your DD, I believe, are two of most spirtual and God fearing individuals I know. I am currently in a bible study on women and prayer. It is a great challenge to really focus daily and intently on prayer each day. I pray for you Sandra for you to continue to enlighten us. I am thankful that he uses you as his tool for his words.

  4. Sandra says:

    Thank you, Amy.

Leave a Reply

