The Tall, Skinny Genes . . .

 

. . .I didn’t get!

p1000296111  There are Mama’s very tall, very thin parents, always called Mom B. and Dad B. by all of us.  She was 5’10” and he was 6’4″ — verrry tall for their generation.  (To give you an idea of what generation that is, he was born in 1869.  It’s easy for me to remember that because he was born exactly 100 years before our daughter DD was born.)  

They married when he was 38 years old and she was 18.  A year later they had Mama who was their short (5’3″), medium-build, oldest daughter (Mama always said she took after her mother’s mother, who was short).  And, I am her “tallish” (5’7″) but not tall, fights-to-stay-medium-build late-life baby.  My siblings are all “normal” height and weight too.

Mama’s older half-brother, Eugene (father of the baby I talked about a few days ago), was a normal height and weight, but her younger brother and two younger sisters all got these tall, slim genes.

There’s no guarantee what genes from your ancesters you will get and which ones will “pass you over”, but I have always envied my cousins who inherited these tall, slim genes.  Apparently, when the “tall/slim gene distribution” was going on, I must have been standing behind the door, because I missed out!

But, I’ve learned to appreciate what I have — including genes.  Not only should I bloom where I’m planted, but I guess you could say I should also bloom in the “pot” I’m planted in, even if it isn’t a tall, slim one!

May we all appreciate the “pot” He gave us, and use it to the best of our ability to honor Him.  That’s all He asks.

6 Responses to The Tall, Skinny Genes . . .

  1. Dina says:

    Well said. It’s so easy to compare ourselves to others and wish we’d inherited their body or talents. I’m learning it’s best to just polish what I was given until I shine to the best of my ability. That tarnish is sure stubborn at times though. 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    I know, Dina. But, I STILL enjoy imagining how nice it must be to be genetically predisposed to tall and skinny! 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    You mean 5’7″ is only tallISH? Don’t tell my 5’3″ sister that. She thinks I inherited the tall genes in our family. 😉

  4. Sandra says:

    Well, Hilary. It’s all relative. When I was a teenager I felt tall, but now I’m surrounded by taller people, so I consider myself only tallish. 🙂

  5. Pamela says:

    I think we have some things in common. My grandmother was 16 when she married my grandfather in 1895. He was 37.

    I was the youngest of 8 — and also felt as if I was raised by committee. There was always someone who could take over any task for me – and usually did.

    Thanks for your visit!

  6. Sandra says:

    Well, Pamela, we DO have quite a bit in common. I’ll be over to read some more of your stories!

Leave a Reply

