Sometimes I Like It When They Lie To Me!

 

I know, I know, we aren’t supposed to lie.  So, I know that I should not encourage anyone to lie to me.  But there are a couple of exceptions I’d like to make … I actually like it that these two lied to me.

Sometimes, when I have tried on a size 14 and it was too big for me, even though it was clearly marked as a size 14, I love it that the manufacturer had stretched the truth a little (pun intended) in their sizing, and intentionally made my size 14 self at least temporarily feel like a size 12!  (When you think about it, I wonder why manufacturer’s don’t do this routinely.  I think one that did would probably see their popularity soar!)

And, yesterday, when I was driving my car and suddenly realized I had forgotten to get gas and the low fuel light had been on for a loooong time, and the needle was now laying squarely on empty, I’m glad that when Ford made my car they stretched the truth a little, and really made the well-and-truly-not-a-drop-of-fuel-left-in-tank-so-the-car-stops point somewhere below the empty mark.

Now, none of the rest of you have my permission to lie to me.  I would never want to encourage that sort of behavior in such wonderful people.

But the clothing manufacturers and Ford — I actually like it that you’ve lied to me in these cases.  Keep up the good work!

13 Responses to Sometimes I Like It When They Lie To Me!

  1. SD says:

    Love your humor! (…and I don’t mind “those” type of lies either – but just those!!)

  2. Sandra says:

    SD — Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  3. I enjoyed reading your post, but…. I don’t like it when clothes companies change their sizes! It makes shopping that much harder when you have to try two sizes…

  4. Sandra says:

    That’s true, Rachel, but if their change makes me wear a size smaller, I am willing to forgive them! 🙂

  5. Beth says:

    The gas tank thing has DEFINITELY been a lie I’ve been thankful for!

    Have you ever shopped at Chico’s? They only have four sizes–0, 1, 2, & 3. (The sizes correspond to 4/6, 8/10, 12/14, & 16/18. Or something like that.) It’s been a brilliant marketing strategy for them. Though it was very confusing for me when I went in and tried on my “regular size” and it was quite large on me! 🙂

  6. Sandra says:

    Beth — Have I ever shopped at Chico’s? Ha! I’m on their “frequent flyer” plan! 🙂 Yes, it is wonderful to wear a “2” instead of a 14.

    A couple days ago Candy and I went there for a little after-lunch browsing and I found a great travelers black skirt for summer, but then they made me an offer I couldn’t refuse. If I bought another piece, I would get a discount. So, I just grabbed a top that I thought would go with alot, and ended up paying five dollars LESS for the skirt by buying the top too! Now that’s MARKETING!

    You shouldn’t have got me started on Chico’s! 🙂

  7. Beth says:

    Sandra–That is my kind of deal! 🙂

  8. Hilary says:

    I lie to myself all the time – by setting the clock ahead by about 5 minutes so I’m never late. And I used to set the scale up slightly so that I always knew that I weighed a tad less than it said, but I have no idea how to do that with a digital scale. Where would we be without self-deception? 😉

  9. Sandra says:

    Hilary — That reminds me that, because I’ve had a bad cold, Hubby has been sleeping in the spare room, and I went in to wake him Sunday morning for church, and when I looked at the clock, I suddenly panicked because it said it was about 15 min. later than I had thought it was! So, I told him to hurry and get up or we would be late! But, when I went back to our bedroom I realized that when Jen was here recently she must have set that clock ahead 15 minutes, to mentally kick start herself to get up. (She has always had trouble getting up in the morning.) If setting it ahead 5 min. is good, 15 min. much be great, right?! 🙂

  10. liz says:

    I love those sort of clothes manufacturers!

  11. I like both of those “lies,” too!

Leave a Reply

