Be Verrrry Careful What You Ask For!

 

My daughter called this evening and asked if I would do a guest post on her blog, Chased by Children, for her.  This is what I wrote:

Jenny’s Mom Rocks!!

Jennifer is out of town on business, so she called me, her lovely mother, and asked if I would do a guest post for her today. I said, yes, of course, but then she proceeded to tell me what I could and couldn’t write!!

That’s when I lovingly explained to her, in a motherly way, that now that she had given me the “key to the city, ” i.e., her password, I could type whatever I pleased!

So now, rather than attending the dinner meeting she was supposed to attend this evening in Indianapolis, she is probably off in a corner somewhere, biting her manicured nails, and wondering what I’m typing! Ha! I love it!

So, what shall we talk about, just between us, now that she isn’t here?

I know. I’ll tell you about her trip to Washington, D.C. when she was a freshman in high school. There were several lessons she learned on that trip, and none of them had to do with the history of our country or how our government works!

At the last minute before the trip, the friend she was supposed to go with couldn’t go, but Jen went anyway, with pretty much a bunch of strangers. Of course, she got to know most of them during the trip, and that’s a good thing, because she didn’t manage her money very well, and ran out a couple days before the end of the trip! So, one of her new friends loaned her some of her money (apparently that girl HAD made sure her money lasted the whole trip!) so that Jen would have money to eat on for the last couple days.

She took a camera, and we were looking forward to seeing what pictures she had taken, but she was either too busy to remember to take pictures, OR she only went on the tour of the street maintenance barn. Because the only pictures she brought back were of some street maintenance men and their truck. No monuments, no white house, no tomb of the unknown soldier … just a couple scruffy-looking guys with shovels, standing in front of their truck.

Unfortunately, I had bought her quite a few new shorts and shirts for this trip. Why “unfortunately,” you ask? Because she put alot of them in drawers in her hotel room and then forgot to look in one drawer when she was packing to come home, so she left a whole draw-full of her new clothes at the hotel! When I called to ask if they’d been found, the clerk said they would have just been dumped into a large “lost and found” bin, and I would have to describe any pieces of clothing that were left, in order to get them back. Wellll, they were new, so neither Jen nor I could describe ANY of them. Oh, but wait a minute, we were able to describe her bathing suit that was also in the drawer, so they did mail that to us. J.u.s.t t.h.a.t o.n.e t.h.i.n.g.

But, when she got home, she said she had had a great time. And, I had been a nervous wreck with my baby on that trip all by herself, so I was delighted she was home too … even minus any pictures of DC landmarks and most of her wardrobe, and owing money to some stranger from another school!

I couldn’t write a blog if I didn’t have interesting children who are perpetual fodder for my stories.

And, now, back to you Jen …

Love, Mom

Don’t bother to thank me, Jen.  I was happy to do it!  

4 Responses to Be Verrrry Careful What You Ask For!

  1. Danielle says:

    LMAO…..Great post. I always enjoy both your reads…xoxo

  2. Sandra says:

    Thanks, Danielle. You know, we both love you too. 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    LOL.. Well done. Do you figure she’s changed her password yet? 😉

  4. Sandra says:

    Hilary — I think that would be a big, YES!! I probably have guaranteed that she won’t think giving me that kind of power again is a good idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

