Can You Smell Greatness?

 

If so, I think I may have just gotten a “whiff” this week of future blogging greatness.

A young man from Texas first popped up as a commenter on my post about editing a few days ago.  He said he was brand new to blogging and was looking for help.  He totally charmed me when he ended the short list of questions he was asking with, “3) Will you read my blog? (asked in a pathetic, begging-like voice.)”

His claim to “neediness” and his willingness to admit it in a way that made me laugh, brought out all my grandmotherly, and lover of clever humor,  instincts. 

So, I went to his blog and left him the longest comment know to man, giving him advice on everything from how to get new readers to limiting his sugar intake and always wearing clean underwear, in case he’s in an accident.

Thus began me reading his blog and commenting on his always funny, always original and witty posts.  And, him commenting regularly on my blog, again always with clever words.

I suggest you go over here and see if you don’t agree with me.  And, while you’re there, it would be great if you’d leave him a comment.  I remember how much I appreciated the comments on my first posts. 

If he sticks with this blogging thing and gives an audience time to find him, I think there may come a time when those of us who read him when he first started may be proud to say, “I “knew” (read) him when!”

13 Responses to Can You Smell Greatness?

  1. Schafner says:

    Wow … I’m speechless. You took the wittiness right out from under me!

  2. Sandra says:

    Josh, I’ve only known you a few days, but I already know that striking you speechless is quite a feat! 🙂

  3. Schafner says:

    I would like you to know that I’ve taken your suggestion; I have included a better picture of me. (But I must say, the one of my wife was much easier on the eyes.)

    Oh, as an aside … PLEASE EDIT MY SPELLING ERROR ON SPEECHLESS!!! It’s driving me crazy!

    I knew that it looked funny when I originally posted it, but I was in a hurry and didn’t spell check it.

    It’s …. staring at me.

  4. Pam says:

    He is funny ….what did his picture at first look like though?

  5. Amy O says:

    Great recommendation! He is in my Fav’s.

  6. Sandra says:

    Pam — It was a picture of him kissing his wife, and it was very sweet. But, I just thought it would be nice to have a picture on there that actually let you see what he looked like!

  7. Sandra says:

    Amy — I’m glad you agree. I certainly didn’t hesitate to recommend him after just reading a few of his posts. He’s very “readable.”

  8. C. Beth says:

    Great blog!! Thanks, Sandra!

  9. C. Beth says:

    Sandra–After reading Schafner’s comments to you on his blog (about having a hard time getting back to your blog) it struck me–you can go into your Blogger profile and link to a website. It would be a good place to put a link to this blog.

  10. Barb says:

    Sandy…dined with some of your ‘shirt tail’ in-laws at church this evening….told them how great your blog is and where to find it….and how if I’m having a bad day, you cheer me up. In-law’s husband asked what you blog aboout….I said anything and everything…wait until you read it! Thanks again for the laughs, insight, and just plain fun!

  11. Sandra says:

    Thanks, Barb. I may have to hire you as my PR rep!:)

  12. Tab Calhoun says:

    You betcha! He’ll learn that the blog community is super.

Leave a Reply

