If You Hate Green Bean Casserole . . .

 

. . . then here are a couple of vegetable dishes that you might like for Thanksgiving.

This was inspired by a blogging friend who said she finds the traditional green bean casserole gross.  Hope you like one of these, friend!

 Baked Broccoli

2 (10 oz.) boxes frozen chopped broccoli, cooked as directed

6 eggs, slight beaten

24 oz. small curd cottage cheese

6 T. flour

1 stick butter, softened

8 oz. grated cheddar cheese

While broccoli is cooking, mix together other ingredients.  When broccoli is done, add it to the mixture.  Pour into a greased 9×13 baking dish.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until slightly browned around the edges.

 Bohemian Salad

Use a large bowl for this.  It makes a bunch.

Combine 1 can each:   corn, drained (white shoepeg, if available)

                                    baby peas, drained

                                    red beans, drained and rinsed

Plus 1 cup each:          chopped celery

                                    onion

                                    red or green bell pepper

Plus 2 cups each:        cauliflower

                                   broccoli

For dressing, bring to a boil: 1 C. sugar, ½ C. vegetable oil, ½ C. vinegar, ½ t. salt, ½ t. pepper, ½ t. celery seed

Pour dressing over vegetables.  Refrigerate.  Will keep in frig. for approx. two weeks, or can be frozen.

7 Responses to If You Hate Green Bean Casserole . . .

  1. Beth says:

    My heart about STOPPED when I saw the title of your post, as I think green bean casserole is one of the best parts of Thanksgiving.

    That being said…Hmm, the broccoli bake sounds awesome. I’ll be bookmarking it (for use at a time other than Thanksgiving!) 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Sandra says:

    I know, Beth. Green bean casserole is such a STAPLE of Thanksgiving dinner, it wouldn’t occur to most of us, that not everyone likes it. But when I read that other blog, I just thought I’d suggest a couple of alternatives. But, WE will certainly have our good ol’ green bean casserole! 🙂

    btw, your mom sent me some pictures of her handiwork this morning. Wow! Even thought you said she was an accomplished quilter, you couldn’t have possibly prepared me for HOW accomplished! Here work is just gorgeous.

    Thanks for “introducing” me to your great parents!

  3. Beth says:

    You’re welcome; I know they are glad to have been introduced to you too!

    Yes, my mom’s quilting is amazing…truly artwork, it is.

  4. Danielle says:

    I love baked broccoli….it’s one of my fav’s
    xoxox

  5. Sandra says:

    I really like it too, Danielle.

  6. OH Sandra, you different have to hide me! hahaha. I can’t stand that yucky casserole. But, I am totally liking your broccoli recipe. Sorry it took so long to reply, but you know I’m not around as much as I should be!

  7. Sandra says:

    Hi, Jen — I’m glad to be of help! I know how busy you are, so just figured you’d get to this eventually — hopefully before Thanksgiving! 🙂

Leave a Reply

