Opie Picks Sides

 

A political commercial just now on TV.  Ron Howard dressed as Opie having a political dialogue with Andy Griffith as Sheriff Taylor and Henry Winkler as the Fonz.

I’m trying to think how the discussion would have gone when these three men who played three characters who are still beloved by the majority of Americans, whether liberal or conservative, decided to do this. 

I wonder if one or all of them had any reservations about politicizing those beloved characters.  I like to think they did at least think about that.  But, it makes me truly sad that they chose to do it anyway.

6 Responses to Opie Picks Sides

  1. Beth says:

    It’s a little funny to me that you usually have several comments by now, and nothing yet…maybe everyone is like me, afraid to tackle these political issues!

    I found the commercial online…thought it was somewhat entertaining. A couple of things bothered me about it…the Palin crack was personal and rude (not that I’ve never made comments that are personal and rude, so maybe I shouldn’t talk), and at the end there seemed to be an insinuation that thoughtful voters will end up voting for Obama…a rather arrogant idea in my opinion.

  2. Sandra says:

    Beth — I didn’t mean to make people uncomfortable. That was just my gut reaction when I saw it. I actually got tears in my eyes. I just found it sooo sad.

  3. Beth says:

    I think my reaction to it was different because I only grew up with those shows on as reruns, along with so many other shows. Those characters were never iconic to me the way they were to those who saw them when they were originally on TV.

    I doubt your post made most readers uncomfortable; don’t worry about that! It’s just an election with such strong emotions on both sides.

  4. Sandra says:

    Beth — Thank you for helping me see this in a different light. I said “beloved by the majority of Americans” because that’s the way I remember it. But after your comment, I realize you’re probably right. They are from a generation ago, so probably aren’t beloved and the icons they once were, to younger Americans.

    And maybe those guys were just delighted to have a chance to relive their glory days for a few minutes!

    I just hope James Arness who played Marshall Dillon on Gunsmoke doesn’t get any ideas! 🙂

  5. Daughter in law says:

    I was very sad when I saw that commercial. Andy Griffith is a resident of my conservative home state in North Carolina and the show was based in conservative “Mayberry, NC.” What would Aunt Bea say?

    When I saw that commericial, I remembered what I was told by numerous people about him in the film industry when he was shooting the “Matlock” series. They consistently said that he was not the nice, southern man he portrayed on TV.

    Well, fortunately for North Carolina, “Andy and Opie” don’t get to make the decision for all us who our next President will be. We all will get the opportunity to vote and hopefully North Carolina will go Conservative as it has in the past Presidential Elections.

Leave a Reply

