It’s Gut-Check Time

 

Hubby and I are not economists (and apparently neither are alot of people in government!) and we’re not people who understand all the nuances and subtleties of the issues that are currently being debated between the two presidential candidates.  So, what can we do about all that’s going on right now? 

Here is our list.

1. Do everything we can to live a normal life.  Spend our money, to the extent of our resources, the way we did before all this started.  If we maintain our spending habits as much as possible, we are helping to stabilize and strengthen the economy.  It is true that the economy is, and always has been, like a “house of cards,” with each of us as one of the cards.  And, if we each hold up our little portion of the “house,” we are adding to the strength of the overall “structure.”  But, if we let fear take over, and “lie down” financially, it weakens the structure.

2. We are watching our investments take a reallllly big hit right now.  There are times when you can’t help but think, “We might as well have that money under the mattress, for all the ‘investing’ is doing for it right now!”  But, while I don’t have the exact statistics to quote, I do know that the last time there was a crunch like this — I believe it was in the early 80’s — the people who left their money right where it was and just stayed the course and didn’t panic, came out just fine. So, that is our matra, “Stay the course.  Don’t move anything.  Hunker down, investment wise, right where we are.”

3.  As far as the election is concerned, we are listening to what the candidates say, and when the time comes, we will vote.  If we don’t vote, we have chosen not to participate in deciding our own future.

4. Most importantly, we are praying about it all.  I truly believe in the power of prayer.  The Bible tells us to “pray without ceasing.”  I don’t believe that means to pray every minute.  I believe it means to pray about everything that in any way concerns us, at any time in the day when that concern comes to mind.  And the economy and the election are definitely two things that we are all concerned about and are certainly foremost in our minds right now!

Romans 8:28:  “All things work to the good for those who know and love God.”  I believe the way we “know” Him is to read His Word and pray.

I saw a t-shirt on a man recently that I really liked.  It just said, “Pray. Vote. Pray.”

We are praying about the economy.  We are praying about the election.  We will pray before we vote.

And, we will pray for the new President, whether we voted for him or not.

“Gut-check time” is easier when it’s accompanied by “heart-check time” through prayer. 

May God bless each of you with wisdom and peace as you do your best during these hard times.

4 Responses to It’s Gut-Check Time

  1. tz says:

    I couldn’t comment on your post about your naming of the blog (or read what other people wrote) so I’m posting my comment here…I LOVE THE NAME OF YOUR BLOG..it says so much. I’m always impressed with clever names of blogs…

    Now this post, how wonderful…I pray for the current administration all the time even though he wasn’t my choice….he was the choice of our nation and he still needs guidance. And I’m not mean spirited and pray for something bad to happen to him, I pray for him to make decisions that will help our country…I try to teach the boys to respect who is in office even if we don’t agree, that their voices are heard by voting and serving. But no one will respect their opinions if they are disrespectful about other people….and believe me, both my family and jason’s family have people on both sides of the issues, family dinners can get pretty heated….

    I think a lot of us will be praying for guidance coming this election!

  2. Sandra says:

    That’s all we can do, tz. I always get a shiver up my spine when I hear Christians say that they don’t want to “get involved” in politics. I feel the opposite. If more Christians would “get involved” (at least vote!) we could have more of a “voice” in the way things are done.

  3. Mrs4444 says:

    Yes, this year’s elective will not be clear-cut. I love that shirt saying!!

  4. Sandra says:

    Mrs4444 — I don’t think I have EVER thought about asking someone where they bought their t-shirt before. But, I DID think about asking him. What a great message!

Leave a Reply

