I Love Old Homes

 

A couple weeks ago on a Sunday afternoon when the temperature was in the 60’s and it was just starting to feel a little Fall-ish, my sister-in-law and I went on a home and garden tour in an old neighborhood. 

I always enjoy thinking about what these houses much have been like when they were new, and all the family histories that must have taken place in them.  And don’t the huge, mature trees in old neighborhoods just add such character!

This neighborhood association may be all about restoration, but they are also “takin’ care of business.”

City homes, even when they weren’t “mansions,” tended to have such nice details.

 

I thought this was clever that someone had turned a small closet into a curio cabinet by adding glass in the door and shelves.

Bathrooms came in all shapes, sizes and styles!

And, of course, some of the beauty was in the decorating and “staging.”

One of the homes we toured was built for the Catholic Bishop at the beginning of the 20th century.  The home had a chapel at the top of a wide staircase.  Just beautiful.

 

I wonder what this home started out to be.  Maybe a church?  Maybe after I’ve taken my Photoshop class I’ll know how to remove the trash bin!

Of course, this was a home and garden walk, so we saw some lovely landscaping.

 

Some landscaping features you just can’t buy!

 

As we were going through some inter-connecting back gardens, we heard music.  We walked down an alley and came to a back yard of a very humble home that wasn’t on the walk but where this couple were playing music and there were some artists selling their wares.

It’s hard to read in the picture, but this vendor had “Beautiful” written in beads on her mirror.

It was a nice touch that there were carriages to ride in, when your feet got tired!

 

And, finally, porches.

 

A lovely walk to visit homes which have received much tender loving care.

10 Responses to I Love Old Homes

  1. Danielle says:

    Sandra..Those photos are just beautiful. They look like they come straight from a glossy home and garden mag..

    Well done !
    x

  2. chrissy says:

    I love it. There are so many differences and so many similarities, it is just beautiful. Thanks for sharing these pictures.

  3. chrissy says:

    omg!! I have missed out on so much with my stupid intermittent Internet. Just catching up with you! You are having such fun not only with life but then with this blogging thing! Maybe one day I’ll be up to speed!

  4. Sandra says:

    Danielle — Thank you, as always, for seeing what I do in the best light! I’ll let you know if I hear from Home and Garden Magazine wanting to use my pics! 🙂

    Chrissy — I’m glad you enjoyed these too. I just love the “character” in old homes. Even our old farm house had beautiful bulls-eye woodwork on the main floor.

    Also, Chrissy, regarding my blog — yeah, I guess it has changed a little bit. I’m enjoying trying to get better at this. And, of course, I’m fortunate to be retired so that I have the TIME to work at getting better. Someday you’ll be where I am, able to have more time for things you enjoy. But, remember, what you’re doing now is the most important time of your life — raising your family! You’re making the memories that you will then enjoy when you’re my age.

  5. karen says:

    Beautiful photos, Sandra. I love old homes. ‘character’ homes as they are called in NZ. They sure do have character. Love the porches and fireplaces ….

  6. Sandra says:

    Me too, Karen. Definitely “character” homes.

  7. Hilary says:

    Those places are gorgeous and your photos are so expertly done.. couldn’t find better representation in a magazine. Beautiful.

  8. Sandra says:

    Thank you so much, Hilary. I’m glad if I conveyed some of the beauty of those old homes.

  9. Mrs4444 says:

    I share your enthusiasm for old homes; I’m just drawn to them, no matter what city I visit. Touring an old home is my idea of a good time 🙂

  10. Sandra says:

    They really “speak” to you, don’t they, Barb? I love imagining their first owners and the dreams they may have had as they looked at their new home!

Leave a Reply

