Two Women I Admire

When Hubby was elected Sheriff the first time, he “inherited” a Merit Board of five men.  Good, knowledgeable community leaders who were conscientious about the hiring, firing and disciplining of police officers. 

The Merit Board is made up of three members who are appointed by the Sheriff plus two who are picked by the officers.  And, soon after Hubby took office, one of his representatives on the board had to resign for health reasons, so he had to appoint a new person.  He immediately thought of our friend, Mary B., who had recently retired after a long, distinguished career as a human resource manager for a local company. 

Long story short, Hubby did appoint Mary and he has always said that that appointment turned out to be one of the best decisions he made as Sheriff.  

I believe that Mary was the first appointment to that board, at least in recent memory, who had actually worked in human resources.  That certainly doesn’t mean that the board hadn’t made good decisions before she got there, but it does mean that after she got there, she gave the board a “fresh eye” and the added dimension of real-life experience in the field.

So, why do I bring up Mary and the Merit Board?  Because I see a similarity in what Sarah Palin will bring to our federal government — specifically her real-life experience in the realm of oil as an energy source, as well as a “fresh eye” in the other areas.

Energy sources are such a hot topic right now, and rightly so!  And, Palin’s voice of experience. through living in and then being Governor of Alaska, seems to be a wonderful attribute to add to those discussions right now.

Because of Mary B.’s experience, as well as her professional demeanor and her being a “quick study” about things she didn’t know, she was readily accepted and respected by the men she joined on the Merit Board. 

I predict that is how Sarah Palin will “fit.”  If she is articulate about the things she knows, as well as smart and quick about the things she needs to learn, and innovative in her ideas, I believe people will soon stop remarking that she’s the first woman in the job, and will just talk about how good she is at what she does!

6 Responses to Two Women I Admire

  1. Julie says:

    I completely agree with what you have said about Sarah Palin! Let’s just pray she gets the chance to be VP.

  2. Sandra says:

    That’s what I’m hoping too, Julie.

  3. karen says:

    Well said !!! I know a lot of people who are impressed with what Sarah Palin as done and are hoping that she gets her chance as VP. Hopefuly that will then translate, sometime in the future, to her being the POTUS !!

  4. I don’t know what all the fuss is about Sarah Palin’s lack of experience. Her experience is still more than Obama’s, who is running for President, not VP. That said, I like her, but I’m not sold yet. I have some reservations I hope are cleared up in the next month or two.

  5. Barb says:

    I am so excited that Sen. McCain picked Gov. Palin as his running mate! What an awesome move! They will ‘kick butt’ together… I find it amusing that Obama seems to want to pick on Sarah, and not ‘go after’ McCain! I believe that they think of Sarah as a threat.

  6. Sandra says:

    I hope she can live up to our expectations, Barb!

Leave a Reply

