We Knew Him When He Was Short (relatively)

Isn’t it fun when someone you “know” somehow receives national or international attention?

I suppose this is a little like everyone wanting to claim any teensy weensy bit of Irish heritage they have on St. Patrick’s Day.  When someone has some fame, we all want to say “we knew him when,” don’t we?

We are experiencing this right now with the Olympics.  Lloy Ball, the setter on the USA men’s volleyball team went to the same grade school as our children.  He was a year behind DD, so we did know him when he was relatively “little” (although, as I remember, he was always tall for his class).  His family go to a sister church of our church, so we know them.  But, I’m not sure Lloy would know who I was if I saw him somewhere and spoke.  He does know DD though, so I would probably shout up to him (he’s 6’8″!) “I’M DD’S MOTHER!”

So, while Lloy won’t be coming to dinner at our house any time soon, and the Christmas card he surely sent us last year must have gotten lost in the mail, I do take personal pride in seeing him play well, and I picture his parents and how proud they must be.

I just watched Lloy and his team beat Serbia in a really well-fought battle on both sides.  The USA team now moves into the semi-finals.  Go U.S.A.!!!

I love the Olympics.

6 Responses to We Knew Him When He Was Short (relatively)

  1. Hilary says:

    That’s cool.. and thrilling. 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    Yes, it is, Hilary. This is Lloy’s 4th and last Olympics, so it would be especially great if they would win the gold!

  3. zimmerhouse says:

    How neat…it makes it all so much more personal doesn’t it!

  4. Sandra says:

    Yes, tz, it does make the Olympics even more interesting. And, they’re pretty darn interesting anyway!

  5. New Diva says:

    I love the olympics too, and now since I know DD I will claim a small connection too! 😉

  6. Sandra says:

    That’s the way it works, isn’t it, New Diva? You go, girl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

