Maybe Walt was On to Something!

When a group of us went out to lunch after golf Thursday, one friend said she hadn’t had a good round because she had forgotten to take a “potty break” before she started, so had had trouble concentrating on her game!

That may have been the case for her, but I have heard that Walter Winchell, a famous radio newscaster in the 40’s and 50’s, who was famous for having a “machine gun” delivery when he gave the news, saw it differently!  I have heard that he purposely didn’t go to the bathroom before he gave his broadcast because he felt the “need to go” gave him the sense of urgency he liked to project!

One woman’s distraction — one man’s inspiration!

10 Responses to Maybe Walt was On to Something!

  1. tz says:

    hmmm….I’m thinking I’d have a hard time concentrating rather then using that urgency for good….

  2. Sandra says:

    Yeah, me too, tz.

  3. karen says:

    I’d be having trouble with my concentration, as well !!

    It always gives me the giggles, when I hear people in the US, talking about ‘potty breaks’ or saying that ‘they’re going potty’.

    back in NZ, ‘going potty’ means that you’re going mad. 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    Well, Karen, if we don’t have time to “go potty” here, it COULD drive us “mad!” It’s always fun to hear how words are used differently in different countries.

  5. zimmerhouse says:

    I never used to say ‘potty’ til I had kiddos….and now Jason (huby) will give me strange looks when we’re having dinner in a nice place, just the two of us and I tell him that I’ll be right back, I have to go potty….hahaha maybe I’ll get my adult vocabulary back when the kiddos are out of school?

  6. Sandra says:

    Well, tz, I hope it works better for you than it did for me! I must have transitioned right from talking to my kids about “go potty” to telling my grandkids to “go potty” because the phrase has definitely attached itself to me in a permanent way. 🙂

  7. Oh this is a GREAT post. I think I would have to agree with her…..I couldn’t concentrate either!

  8. sparrowssong says:

    Hahahaha. Her cup over flowth in more ways than one.

  9. Sandra says:

    I like that sparrowssong, “her cup over flowth.” Perfect. Thanks for stopping by. I’ve just visited your blog, and I’m trying to figure out what an avatar is!

Leave a Reply

