A Just Ducky Update

Beginning on Friday, I have had to resist telling you what I had seen, but now it’s time.

On Friday morning when I went out to say good morning to Just Ducky, she wasn’t on the nest and several of the eggs were laying outside the nest, broken.  I checked over and over again throughout the day, and she never returned.  Then Hubby reminded me that the Orken guy had been here on Thursday to give our foundation the every-three-month spray.  We immediately decided that that might have figured into JD’s disapearance.  The Orken guy might have sprayed too close to her nest, and somehow “tainted” it for her, so she had abandoned it, and it appeared that scavenger animals were helping themselves to the eggs.

I was very sad.  (I know, silly, but I WAS!) Then, on Saturday morning the guy who was going to put down our mulch called and said he would be there that afternoon.  We had previously told him that he would have to skip the corner where the duck’s nest was, and we would put it there later, after she didn’t need it any more.

So, when the “mulcher” called, I told him his timing was perfect because the duck had abandoned the nest, so he could just cover it with mulch.  That would also keep me from continually re-checking the nest to see if anything had changed — more a dream than a realistic hope!  So he mulched Saturday afternoon, and I was thinking that I would have to have some kind of post for those of you who had read my previous post about our duck, but I just didn’t know what to say.

Sunday, we were going to late church, so about mid-morning we were sitting in the sun room drinking coffee, reading the paper and looking out at the water.  And, then, a mother duck and three ducklings went waddling across the yard.  Hubby said, “Do you suppose that could be your duck?” (He never admitted any attachment to her, so she was always “my” duck.)

All of a sudden the nest that had appeared abandoned seemed more likely to be a “no longer needed” nest!  The broken egg shells could have been the ones these babies came out of!  And, somehow, I guess Just Ducky would have known that that was all that were going to hatch.

I was a little hesitant to embrace this happy ending to what I had considered a sad little tale, but, you know, that duck and her three babies are spending a lot of time in our yard.  I went out and spoke to her yesterday when she was “showing” her babies the deck and letting them run along the brick sidewalk, but as soon as I walked out they all headed for the water. 

What fun they are to watch.  And, Hubby just laughs when I talk about another sighting of “our ducks!

Happy Mother’s Daty to Just Ducky too!

7 Responses to A Just Ducky Update

  1. tz says:

    oh yay! what a perfect mother’s day story!

  2. Sandra says:

    I think so too, tz. I am so happy that my “duck tale” had a happy ending!

  3. Danielle says:

    Oh Boy…. that sure was a close call…

    So glad Ducky and her Ducky babes are all ok…

    I so love happy endings !

  4. dlyn says:

    I will take a happy ending any day!

  5. Chrissy says:

    How sweet! Love this ending!

  6. New Diva says:

    I’m a sucker for happy endings! How wonderful.

  7. Sandra says:

    I see a theme here — we do all love a happy ending, don’t we!

    A few minutes ago I saw Just Ducky and her triplets waddling across the yard. They are so fun to watch.

Leave a Reply

