Miscellaneous Favorites of Mine

As I have gotten older, I have come to realize that quotes and sayings aren’t just, well, “quotes and sayings.”  In many cases, they actually contain good advice! 

So, here is some of my favorite “stuff” floating around in my head.  BTW, I am only listing things that I can quote from memory, to keep the list short (because we all know — I have a REALLY short memory!):

The hottest places in hell are reserved for those who, in times of moral crisis, maintain their neutrality.”    Dante

Courage is contagious.  When a brave man takes a stand, the spines of other are stiffened. ”   Billy Graham

Lefty loosey, righty tighty.”  (I wouldn’t be able to unscrew anything without this one!) 

 “Thirty days hath September . . .”  (Are there actually people who remember how many days are in each month WITHOUT using this little ditty?!!)

The truth of the matter is, we always know the right thing to do.  The hard part is doing it.”  General Norman Schwartzkopf 

All things work to the good for those who know and love God.”  Romans 8:28  (My favorite bible passage, that has helped me through many a rough time.)

I learned this poem in high school and have always been charmed by the pictures it creates:

~~Outwitted by Edwin Marcum~~

He drew a circle that shut me out.

Heretic, rebel, a thing to flout.

Ah, but love and I had the wit to win.

We drew a circle that took HIM in!

If you have a favorite quote or bible passage or memory jogger or any kind of tip that helps you get through life, I’d love for you to share it in a comment!

8 Responses to Miscellaneous Favorites of Mine

  1. tz says:

    wow, you do have a great memory…

    ok here’s mine:
    and I’m not sure it’s exactly like this, but the meaning is there…

    “It’s unfair to ask others to do something you are unwilling to do yourself” Eleanor Roosevelt

    (excpet using power tools..I’m okay asking my hubby to do that when I won’t)

  2. Danielle. says:

    I have 3 favourites.

    1. Nothing is for nothing. A quote that I have loved ever since I met a teacher in life.
    2. Seize the day. I used to write this one all over my school books in high school.
    3. It’s not the grade of the pencil but the line that you leave behind. A more profound quote from one of my favourite music CD’s from “The Mothers Milk Bank”, an organisation that I work with here in Oz.

  3. Hey, I swear I didn’t steal the month ditty from you. I posted it today, too. 🙂

    My favorite saying is “Love your neighbor as yourself.” That saying is much deeper than it seems. Inside that saying is the reminder that we need to love OURSELVES before we can love our neighbor. Sometimes it’s easier to be kind and patient with a stranger than it is to be kind and patient with ourselves. But, it’s our responsibility to treat ourselves well – to take care of and appreciate our life as the precious gift it is.

    Here’s something I have had posted on my calendar for years:

    “Lose this day loitering and ’twill be the same story tomorrow; and the next, more dilatory: The indecision brings its own delays, and days are lost lamenting o’er lost days.” ~ Marlowe

    Oh, and one more I love:

    “Question authority, but not your mother.”

  4. Oh I wouldn’t be able to screw a thing in either without the Left Loosy, Righty Tighty. Whoever thought of that one was a genius.

  5. Sandra says:

    tz — that one reminds me of Hubby’s favorite, “Nothing is impossible if you don’t have to do it yourself.”

    danielle — interesting name for an organization that sells cd’s! (or am I misunderstanding? It could happen!)

    SBW — I agree. “Love thy neighbor as thy self” starts with realizing that God loves us just as we are, so that we can love (and forgive) ourselves. And that absolutely has to come before we are capable of really loving others!

    Jen — I absolute agree. One of those sayings that really serves a purpose!

  6. Danielle. says:

    Sandra…It’s an organisation that provides human milk for human babies here in Australia.

    http://www.mothersmilkbank.com.au

    or maybe try no au….lol..

    A group of female artists got together and made a beautiful CD celebrating, life, woman, sisters etc….I’m not really into music as such but I do like the words behind the songs IYKWIM…
    x

  7. Danielle. says:

    Oh I see it worked…The link I mean….

    Dont be surprized if you see Stump…he had a long journey with the MMB himself ….

  8. Sandra says:

    Thank you, Danielle. I apologize for thinking it was some rock group or something. DD once dated a guy whose favorite singing group was the “Dead Milkmen,” so I don’t rule out anything! I did go to the link but couldn’t identify Stumpy in the pictures.

Leave a Reply

