Wait a Minute. Let Me Tune Up. Me Me Me Me Me Me !!

What the heck is a meme?  Whatever it is, Simple Blog Writer at Simple Words I Understand has tagged me for one.  So, here are the questions, which are all about books, and then my answers:

1.  One book that changed your life.

The Bible

How can I possibly say anything but the Bible, if I am to be absolutely truthful.  No other book in my life has made even a fraction of the difference to me as has the Bible.  It is the instruction manual for how I should conduct my life and the answer sheet for my questions about life.  It is my anchor when life is stormy and the wind beneath my wings when skies are blue and my spirit soars. 

2.  One book that you have read more than once.

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

In my humble opinion, C.S. Lewis is one of the greatest authors of all time.  He is the total package.  His writings play every human emotion and thought and foible like a concert harpist plays her harp, and his words crescendo in moments of pure, beautiful truth, in unique and thought provoking ways that are totally his own God-given voice.

3.  One book you would want on a desert island.

Wellll, if you believe what I said, and you should — that the Bible is my instruction manual for life, where would I need it more than if I were stranded on a desert island?

4.  Two books that made you laugh.

All of the Junie B. Jones Series by Barbara Parks and Denise Brunkus

I know these books are meant for children, but I just love them.  The authors draw darling verbal word pictures of this little girl and the people in her life and I love a good word picture.  I read them to my grandchildren, and I have been known to read them just to myself too!

If Life Is A Bowl of Cherries, What Am I Doing in the Pits?  by Erma Bombeck

I laugh at, beginning at the opening line, everything she wrote.

5.  Two books that made you cry.

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom

Her faithfulness to God while in a concentration camp during World War II is unbelievably moving.

Let’s Roll by Lisa Beamer

The wife of one of the heroes on Flight 93 that went down in Pennsylvania on September 11, tells the very moving story of her husband’s life and death.

6.  One book you wish you’d written.

I Remember by my Mother

Mama journaled for most of her adult life and in 1979 my second sister took the huge amount of time required to organize Mama’s stories, and then Sis had them published with the title I Remember, with enough copies for all of Mama’s children and grandchildren to have a copy.

I hope it doesn’t sound disrespectful to Mama, but I wish that I would have been more interested (and more confident) in my writing while she was still alive, because I think I could have helped her write her stories in a less bare-bones style — in a way that would do more justice to all the experiences and memories she documented in her journals.

7.  One book you wish had never been written.

The His Dark Materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman

Nothing good can come from taunting God.  Mr. Pullman will learn that one day.

8.  Two books you are currently reading.

Quiet Strength by Tony Dungy

I recently finished reading this book.  It is a great story of a true Christian’s life, but you probably need to be a big football fan (like me) to really enjoy it because there is lots of football talk surrounding his talk about his faith.

Schaum’s Quick Guide to Writing Short Stories by Margaret Lucke

I have just started reading this book, because it is the required reading for the Fiction Writing class I will start next week.  I may not be the best writer in that class but I do plan to be the best prepared!

9.  One book you’ve been meaning to read.

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

The majority of my family are Christian and fiscal conservatives.  Our son and several of our nieces in Georgia have all recently mentioned what worthwhile reading this book is in regard to the world economy today, even though it was written decades ago.  They have piqued my interest, and I look forward to seeing what it’s all about.

10.  Five people that I tag.

This is the reason I’ve resisted doing meme’s.  I don’t want to give an assignment to someone who doesn’t want one.  So, I’m going to “wimp out” on this, and just say that if any blogger reading this post would like to do this meme, please consider this my invitation to you to do so.

This was one of the hardest posts I’ve ever written.  I had to do alot of thinking, as opposed to the mindless typing involved in most of my posts 🙂

7 Responses to Wait a Minute. Let Me Tune Up. Me Me Me Me Me Me !!

  1. YOUR SON!!!!!!!?????? YOUR NEICES!!!!!!???? I have been asking you to read Atlas Shrugged for a hundred years!!!! Why do you think YOUR SON read it in the first place!!!!!!!!!

  2. Sandra says:

    Excuse me!! My daughter mentioned it first, and it was only because she had already suggested it that I was willing to take the advice of my other relatives and think about reading that book.

  3. Linda says:

    Excellent post. I know how you struggled with this one, but you did a great job (even if you left out MY favorite book, “The Count of Monte Cristo” … the unabridged version, of course.

  4. Sandra says:

    Thank you, Linda. The praise of someone who has read first the abridged and then the unabridged version of “The Count of Monte Cristo” means alot to me. Even though I think that person is CRAZY to have read that huge unabridged version that I probably would have used as a substantial, yet tasteful, door stop! 🙂 I truly do appreciate your comments, friend.

  5. I agree that Atlas Shrugged is an excellent book. Loved Count of Monte Cristo, too. Oh and Irma Bombeck – wasn’t she great? She started many women writing, I think, with her everyday stories about family life.

    What a wonderful gift from your mother. My dad wrote a few memories as did some aunts and uncles, and it’s enlightening to read the different versions of the same story. I also cherish my dad’s memoir because he wrote it long-hand. I feel like I have him back again when I see his handwriting.

    Thanks for doing the meme (I pronounce it me-me, too). Shall we make a pact of no more? Unless we change our minds.

  6. Sandra says:

    SBW — It ended up being a good thing that you sent me this meme. My first reaction, was “What can I possibly say about books?!” So, having to do this made me really think about what I read and why. Thank you for including me, but I agree that I would prefer not to do any more any time soon. Except, of course, if I get one that asks you to talk about interesting people you’ve met, I will HAVE to forward it to you, because NO ONE knows/ encounters more interesting people than YOU 🙂

  7. Sandra says:

    Also, SBW, I can relate to what you are saying about seeing your dad’s words in his own handwriting. I thought it was so thoughtful that Sis not only had Mama’s book “published” but also that she gave all the books to Mama, so that Mama could write in the front of each of them before sending them to all of us. It is so touching to open it up and see Mama’s beautiful handwriting and the personalized note.

Leave a Reply

