“The Golden Compass” Points In The Wrong Direction

gold-compass.jpg 

I received the following information in an e-mail from one of my sisters, and thought it was important to pass it on:

 “You may already know about this, but I just learned about a kids movie coming out in December starring Nicole Kidman.  It’s called The Golden Compass, and while it will be a watered down version, it is based on a series of children’s books about killing God (It is the anti-Narnia).  Please follow this link, and then pass it on.  From what I understand, the hope is to get a lot of kids to see the movie – which won’t seem too bad – and then get the parents to buy the books for their kids for Christmas.  The quotes from the author sum it all up.” 

http://snopes.com/politics/religion/compass.asp

I do think we have to be very careful about what our children (and we, ourselves) put into our minds.  There are things that I have been exposed to in my life — pictures and just word pictures/stories, many times voluntarily, that I wish I hadn’t allowed into my mind.  Once they are there it’s almost impossible to get them out!  As an example, there are stories about torture, rapes, murders that I have read that I just think in no way add to my life or who I am, and I wish I had never allowed them into my mind.  This movie and these books sound like they fit in this category, but sugar-coated, to make them attractive to children.

Thought I would share this, so that, if you have children, you can look at the Snopes link, and then make an educated decision about taking your children to see this movie. 

Dear God — Please preserve, encourage, protect and guide us, and our children, in this world, and at last in Heaven save us.  In Jesus name, I pray. Amen

One Response to “The Golden Compass” Points In The Wrong Direction

  1. Gareth Field says:

    Yes, lets just ignore things like torture, rape, and murder because they don’t exist. Try reading your bible, that’s a pretty good start if you want to learn about how God does those things. If you’re in the mood for reading, you might also try reading Pullman’s novels, some of the most wholesome, honest children’s series published, none of which actually involve ‘killing’ God.

Leave a Reply

