A Great Saying – Unless You Are on The Receiving End!

smug-man.jpg 

My husband’s very favorite saying is, “Nothing is impossible if you don’t have to do it yourself. 

I LOVE that saying, MOST of the time.  Not so much when he uses it on, of all people, ME!  When I ask him to do some simple thing around the house, like build an arbor over most of the deck, turn the walk-in attic into a bedroom or dig a basement under our slab home (all projects I consider one day jobs), I would rather see results than be stymied by the aforementioned saying, delivered, by the way, in what I consider a slightly condescending tone. (He even insists putting a basement under a slab is not possible!  I use another saying at that point – Where There’s a Will There’s a Way.)

So, Honey, if your reading this (surely you are!), snap to, and get busy on those projects and cut out the rhetoric.

 By the way, did I mention what MY favorite saying is?  If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.” 

8 Responses to A Great Saying – Unless You Are on The Receiving End!

  1. peepnroosmom says:

    Congratulations on your new blog. Sounds good!

  2. Jeana says:

    If I told my husband, “Where there’s a Will there’s a way” he would probably remind me that I married a Scott and not a Will, so no basement for me.

  3. OMSH says:

    What Jeana said … bwahaha!
    I’ve wanted a basement forever, but er … we have water table issues here.

    A second floor is out of the question too.
    GAH!

  4. Lady by the Creek says:

    Congrats on your blog! You are as funny and witty as your daughter, or should I say she is as funny and witty as you. You’re now on my list to read everyday. Especially if I get some fun dirt on your daughter, my dear friend. Great job!

  5. Gunny says:

    I believe that I can relate to your husband.

  6. You are a funny, funny woman who should probably be committed somewhere padded.

  7. […] I had already written two posts, but I wasn’t sure how to put one on, even after her instructions.  So she told me to e-mail one to her and she would get me started.  I sent them both and told her to just put whichever one she liked the best on for the first post.  She put them both on … the first day  (Let Them Eat Potatoes, here, and A Great Saying — Unless You Are on The Receiving End!, here)!  […]

Leave a Reply

